Reading Habits 2000 Vs 2020

I’ve been on a reading slump for the better part of March and I don’t have any book reviews I could do. Trust me, I tried reading. So I was scouring the internet for decent posts I could do and found this article written by C.G of Paper Fury. Her version is 10 years and I was thinking I’d do one that was for 20 years. I guess it’s a good memory exercise. 😅

2000 VS 2020

20 years ago I was a 17 year old freshie in Uni and I had just moved away from home. I’ve always been a reader but my taste in books when I was younger was way different than what it is now.

HOW MUCH DID YOU READ?

2000 → I’m not ashamed to say that I used to read a lot of Danielle Steel novels as well as Precious Hearts Romance pocket books when I was 17. I had a high school classmate who rented out the tagalog pocket books and it was a thing with our group of friends back then. I also reread my favorite Perry Mason mystery books and I so wanted to become a lawyers just like him.

2020 → I have more book slumps now. I’ve only read like 3 books since this year started and I think it’s really sad that I can’t do what I love to do because my brain refuses to cooperate.

DID YOU WRITE REVIEWS?

2000 → I didn’t do reviews when I was 17. I just gave maybe a short opinion on the book I was reading depending on who I was talking to about it. I started doing reviews in 2008.

2020 → As much as I can. If I get to read a book then I get to review it too.

FAVORITE BOOKS?

2000 → No specific favorite books back then but like I said I read a lot of Perry Mason Mysteries and Precious Hearts Romance pocketbooks.

2020 → Now I have a couple of books that I can say are my favorite. Sharing a few of them below.

WHERE DID YOU GET YOUR BOOKS FROM?

2000 → Mostly from my mom’s collection, getting my mom to buy me a few books whenever we go to a bookstore in the big city (Manila), and from my classmate who rented out romance pocket books. My allowance wasn’t that much that I could buy a lot of books without help from my parents.

2020 → Whenever payday rolls around I take a trip to Fullybooked or NBS to buy 1 or 2 titles, except last month when I did a huge book haul during the Big Bad Wolf Book sale.

WHAT THINGS ANNOYED YOU MOST IN BOOKS?

2000 → I honestly don’t remember what annoyed me with books back then aside from the fact that if I run out of books to read I have to wait a while before I can get my hands on some more.

2020 → Now I hate instalove, Boy Next Door and Bad Boy Love triangle tropes, overly hyped books, and many more.

WHO DID YOU DISCUSS BOOKS WITH?

2000 → My mom. She was the only other book lover in my family. People looked at me funny whenever I wanted to discuss books with them.

2020 → You guys and my clique at work who love to read too. Thank goodness for the Book community in Twitter and the comments in my blog where I get to fangirl about books with like minded people.

WHAT’S BEEN THE BIGGEST CHANGE?

I’ve been introduced to a lot of different genres and diverse writing in 20 years and I’ve settled into reading books that I find I love to read more. I’ve learned that demography isn’t important and that I can read whatever I wanted to.

How about you? How has the last 10 or 20 years different when it comes to your reading habits? Send me some love in the comments and keep safe everybody!

2 thoughts on “Reading Habits 2000 Vs 2020

  1. I’ve been on a reading slump for the better part of 2019, and it sucked. What got me back to reading was rereading a favorite book. Maybe you can try it, too, and see if it works for you.

    Anyway, if you’re looking for something to work on for your blog, I have a feature called Eureka! Moment. Maybe you can check it out and do one for yourself if you’re interested. 🙂 Here’s the link to the “guidelines” on how it works: https://dustypromises.com/2019/11/04/eureka-moment-1/

    It’s not entirely book-related, but it really depends on you. If you decide to do a post, don’t forget to ping it back to me so I can check yours out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.